Jody Victor®: Matchup With the Razorbacks

Jody Victor: One week from today, No. 6 Ohio State Buckeyes will play No. 8 Arkansas Razorbacks in the Allstate Sugar Bowl January 4 at 8:30 p.m. ET. Televised on ESPN.

Captain and first team All-Big Ten linebacker Brian Rolle recently visited with Big Ten Network's Katie Witham to give a preview of the game. To see the video go to

Rolle and the Ohio State defense will have their work cut out going up against an Arkansas offense that is averaging 37.3 points and 338 yards passing per game. Junior quarterback Ryan Mallett enters the game ranked third nationally in passer efficiency at 170.5 and has completed 66.5 percent of his passes with 30 touchdowns and 11 interceptions.

However, Rolle knows that Ohio State must be conscious with how well Arkansas runs the ball as well, and not just through the air.

“We know they're going to pass the ball, that's a given,” Rolle said. “Their running backs do a great job of getting down field…they're big guys who can run. So that's probably one of the things we need to worry about the most. If we give our D-line a chance to get up field and make plays I feel like our backend can do a great job.”

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: Five Buckeyes Honored

Jody Victor: Football is winding down to the Bowls but Ohio State continues to garner awards and honors. Here's the news from , Columbus, Ohio.

Five Ohio State football greats will have their names engraved on a number of trophies the Big Ten created last week when the conference announced the names of the Legends and Leaders division. Archie Griffin, Eddie George, Wayne Woodrow “Woody” Hayes, Orlando Pace and Jack Tatum proved to be great leaders on the field and after their playing and coaching careers concluded.

Starting in 2011, the Big Ten will honor the five Buckeyes with trophies for the Grange-Griffin Championship game MVP, the Graham-George offensive player of the year, Hayes-Schembechler coach of the year, Rimington-Pace offensive lineman of the year and Tatum-Woodson defensive back of the year.

Griffin, a four-year starter at tailback, is the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner in NCAA history. The three-time first team All-American led the Buckeyes to four consecutive Big Ten titles from 1972-75 and set career records for rushing yards (5,589), rushing attempts (924) and 100-yard games (34), all of which still stand.

George, the 1995 Heisman Trophy, Maxwell and Doak Walker Award winner was named Walter Camp national player of the year and Big Ten offensive player of the year his senior season. He went on to earn the 1996 NFL Rookie of the Year Award with the Houston Oilers and went on to play mine seasons in the NFL.

Hayes, the winningest head coach in Ohio State history, led the Buckeyes to a Big Ten record 205 wins over 28 seasons. The three-time National and two-time Big Ten coach of the year guided the Buckeyes to five national championships and 13 Big Ten titles, including six consecutive from 1972-77. Hayes, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, coached 56 first team All-American and three Heisman Trophy winners.

Pace, the 1994 Big Ten freshman of the year, became the first two-time winner of the Lombardi Award after making all 38 starts in his three years at Ohio State. After winning the Outland Trophy and twice being named Big Ten offensive lineman of the year, Pace was the first overall pick of the 1997 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Rams. He made seven consecutive Pro Bowl appearances and helped lead the Rams to a 23-16 win over George's Tennessee Titans in Super Bowl XXXIV.

Tatum was a two-time All-American and three-time first team All-Big Ten selection as a defensive back for the Buckeyes. The 1970 national defensive player of the year led the Buckeyes to a 27-2 record and one national title in his three seasons as a starter. A member of the College Football Hall of Fame, Tatum was selected to three Pro Bowls after the Oakland Raiders drafted him in the first round of the 1971 NFL Draft.

The  new Big Ten logo and division graphics, along with the list of trophy names and short bios on each of the student-athletes and coaches appearing on each trophy, can be found at

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: 17 Buckeyes Earn Honors

Jody Victor: Now that the regular season is over it is time for football awards and honors. Here's the news from, Columbus, Ohio.

Fourteen Buckeyes were named to the Ohio College Football All-Ohio first team while quarterback Terrelle Pryor was named offensive player of the year and Brian Rolle earned defensive player of the year. Six Buckeyes were named on the offensive side of the ball while seven defensive standouts and a specialist garnered first team laurels.

Pryor, running back Dan Herron, receiver Dane Sanzenbacher and offensive linemen Mike Adams, Michael Brewster and Justin Boren were named to the first team offense. Defensive linemen Cameron Heyward and Nathan Williams, along with linebackers Ross Homan and Brian Rolle and defensive backs Chimdi Chekwa, Jermale Hines and Devon Torrence were named to the first team defense and Devin Barclay was named the first team kicker.

Receiver DeVier Posey, offensive lineman Bryant Browning and defensive lineman John Simon were named to the second team.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor


Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: Ohio State vs. Arkansas In the Sugar Bowl!

Jody Victor: What is sweeter than a candied apple? The Sugar Bowl of course! Here's some news from

Ohio State, 11-1 and champion of the Big Ten Conference for a record-tying sixth consecutive season, will play Arkansas, 10-2 from the southeastern Conference, in the Allstate Sugar Bowl Tuesday, Jan. 4 at 8:30p.m. (EST). ESPN will televise the game from the Louisiana Superdome.

This marks the 11th consecutive season Ohio State will be playing in a bowl game – the longest streak in the Big Ten – and even more impressively, the game represents a national record ninth Bowl Championship Series (BCS) game and sixth consecutive for Ohio State. The Buckeyes are 5-3 in BCS games, which is tied with Florida for the second-most BCS wins behind USC's six.

Ohio State, No. 6 in the final BCS poll released Sunday, and No. 8 Arkansas have never met on the gridiron and this first match-up features two hot teams. The Buckeyes have won five consecutive games since an Oct. 16 loss at Wisconsin, including November wins over Penn State, at Iowa and Michigan that clinched the Big Ten championship.

Arkansas, second in the SEC West to unbeaten Auburn, has won six in a row since last losing Oct. 16 at Auburn. The Razorbacks' streak includes wins at SEC East champion South Carolina, and a win over LSU in their last game of the regular season.

This game should be exciting!

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU