Jody Victor®: 6 Buckeyes Named to NFF 2011

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye football news from…..

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced May 4 the members of the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players form all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, showing a steady increase in membership each year since the inaugural class in 2007.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthen the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided an endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. Each of the 671 players awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating the achievement.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

* Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;

* Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

* Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Buckeye honorees are Bryant Browning, Garrett Hummel, Chris Malone, Jake McQuaide, Andy Miller and Scott Sika. Ohio State is one of four FBS schools with five or more honored.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: Ohio State enters Big Ten Tournament as No. 4 Seed

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye baseball news from….

The Ohio State Buckeyes are returning to the Big Ten Conference Tournament, Wednesday at 12:05 p.m. at Huntington Park. The Buckeyes, the No. 4 seed in the tournament, will take on No. 5 seed Minnesota in a game that will kick off the 2011 conference tournament. Following this game, No. 3 seed Purdue and No. 6 seed Penn State will meet in a 3:35 p.m. scheduled start.

The Buckeyes qualified for the Big Ten Tournament in coach Greg Beals' initial season as coach by winning a three-game series at Minnesota over the weekend. After dropping the opener, 3-2, the Buckeyes came back to win games two and three by scores of 5-1 and 3-0, respectively, to position the Buckeyes in fourth place with a 13-11 mark and a 25-25 overall record. The losses dropped the Golden Gophers' records to 13-11 and 22-22.

Huntington Park, which will also host the 2012 Big Ten tournament, is in its' third year as home of the Columbus Clippers, the Triple-A affiliate of the Cleveland Indians. The place is cozy, friendly and offers a stunning view of downtown Columbus. Two years ago Big Ten tournament attendance at Huntington Park was more than 12,000 fans, marking the tournament's highest total attendance in the past decade. Ohio State's opening game that year, vs. Illinois, drew 4,575 fans.

Ohio State has been one of the most successful teams in Big Ten tournament play. The Buckeyes have won eight tournament titles – 1991-94-95-97 and 2002-03-05-07 – to rank second to Minnesota's nine. Ohio State also ranks second in Big Ten tournament wins (49), winning percentage (.598; 49-33) and most tournaments (24). When Ohio State failed to qualify for the 2010 Big Ten tournament, it snapped a Big Ten record streak of 13 consecutive tournaments for the Buckeyes.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: 5 Ohio State Teams Recognized for Academic Achievement

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye news from…….

Five Ohio State teams – baseball, football, men's gymnastics, men's tennis and women's tennis – have been honored with public recognition awards, the NCAA announced today. These awards are given each year to teams scoring in the Top 10 percent in each sport, based on their most recent multi-year Academic Progress Rates (APR).

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. The most recent APR scores are multi-year rates based on the scores from the 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 academic years.

Top-performing teams this year posted APR scores ranging from 977 to a perfect 1,000. The number of teams in some sports may exceed 10 percent depending on the number of perfect scores. This is the first time the NCAA has separated football by its bowl and championship subdivisions.

Ohio State joins Northwestern as the only Big Ten football teams honored, with 14 BCS schools recognized in all.

Ohio State was one of two conference men's gymnastics programs recognized, with the Buckeyes joining two other Big Ten schools on the baseball list. Both men's and women's tennis had four Big Ten schools recognized.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: Buckeyes Welcome Nationally-Ranked Oklahoma

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye baseball news and stats from…..

Tonight and Wednesday evening the Buckeyes will be hosting another OSU – Oklahoma State University – in a two-game series with start times each night set for 6:35 p.m.

This is Oklahoma State's first appearance in bill Davis Stadium. The Cowboys enter the series nationally-ranked among the Top 20 teams in the nation with a 31-15 record and a 12-8 mark in the Big 12 Conference. The Buckeyes are 21-21 overall and are 10-8 in the Big Ten Conference.

Ohio State and Oklahoma State have met just three times on the baseball diamond with Ohio State winning all three games. The teams last met in 1994 in Gainesville, Florida, a 5-4 Ohio State win.

The first two times Ohio State and Oklahoma State played came in the 1966 College World Series in Omaha, Neb. The Buckeyes claimed the first game in the CWS, 4-2, scoring three runs in the top of the ninth inning. And then the two met in the CWS championship game on June 18. Ohio State won its first and only College World Series championship with an 8-2 win.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU

Jody Victor®: Ohio State Welcomes North Florida to Bill Davis Stadium

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye baseball news from

The baseball game between Ohio State and North Florida, originally scheduled for 6:35pm tonight, has been postponed because of rain in the Columbus area.

The two teams will play a doubleheader beginning at 4:05pm Wednesday at Bill Davis Stadium. Both games will be seven-innings.

Ohio State enters the week 19-18 overall, a game back in the Big Ten race with a 9-6 conference record with three weekends remaining in the regular season.

Ohio State and North Florida have played 11 times with Ohio State holding a 9-2 edge in wins. All but two of the games have been played in Jacksonville. UNF came to Columbus for a pair of games in 2007. Ohio State has won the last seven games in the series, including 8-7 and 9-3 wins at Bill Davis Stadium in 2007, and 4-2 last year in Jacksonville.

Up Next : The Buckeyes travel to Champaign for a three-game Big Ten series with Illinois beginning Friday.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor

Posted in OSU