Eight Buckeyes Named All-Big Ten

Jody Victor: Here is some great Buckeye football news from OSU.edu and OhioStateBuckeyes com.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Eight Ohio State Buckeyes were named first-team all-Big Ten Conference today in voting done by the head coaches and 36 members of the media (three representing each team in the conference).

Leading the way was Braxton Miller and Carlos Hyde. For the second consecutive year, Miller was named the Big Ten’s Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year. He was a first-team all-conference choice by both the coaches and the media. Miller is the Big Ten leader in passer efficiency with a 164.3 rating and leads the Big Ten with 295.0 yards of total offense per game in conference play. The junior has passed for 1,759 yards and 21 touchdowns while rushing for 891 yards and eight scores despite missing nearly three games early in the season.

Hyde was named the Big Ten’s Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year. The senior from Naples, Fla., leads the Big Ten in rushing with 143.3 yards per game along with 14 touchdowns, including 156.1 yards per game in Big Ten play. Hyde, who has rushed for 589 yards and seven touchdowns in the last three contests, also was named first-team all-conference by both the coaches and the media. With 1,290 yards, he became the first running back for an Urban Meyer-coached team to rush for 1,000 yards in a season. He rushed for at least 100 yards in each of the last seven games, including two 200-yard performances.

Six other Buckeyes earned first-team all-Big Ten honors from the media including Corey Linsley, Jack Mewhort, Andrew Norwell, Bradley Roby, Ryan Shazier and Noah Spence.


Jody Victor