Jody Victor®: 10 Buckeyes First-Team All-Big Ten

Jody Victor: Flying on the coattails of a big win over Michigan last Saturday, the Buckeyes take some honors. From– Ten student-athletes from the six-time defending Big Ten champion Ohio State Buckeyes, including seven seniors, were named first-team all-Big Ten Conference today by either a vote of the conference head coaches, a vote of the conference media or in five cases, both.

First-team all-Big Ten Buckeyes as selected by both the coaches and the media are defensive lineman Cameron Heyward, receiver Dame Sanzenbacher, linebacker Brian Rolle, cornerback Chimdi Chekwa and offensive tackle Mike Adams.

Those Buckeyes named first-team all-Big Ten by the coaches include running back Dan “Boom” Herron, linebacker Ross Homan and safety Jermale Hines. Additional first-team media choices were offensive guard Justin Boren and center Mike Brewster.

The honors for the seniors was most fitting when one considers the remarkable run of success the members of this class have been a part of:

* Never not winning or sharing a Big Ten Conference championship, and in the process…

* Extending Ohio State's run of Big Ten championships to a record-tying six consecutive;

* Winning 43 games the last three-plus years against only eight losses;

* Winning 28 of 32 games against Big Ten Conference opponents;

* Helping Ohio State become the only FBS school with five consecutive AP Top 10 finishes; and

* Extending Ohio State's streak of 10-or-more-win seasons to a Big Ten record six consecutive years

The first-team honors, which boost Ohio State's total to 361 all-time first-team honorees, are the first for all of the Buckeyes except for Boren, who was also chosen last season by the media. The 10 accolades ties five other Ohio State teams for third on the school's all-time lists of most all-Big Ten selections. The 1969 team and the 1975 team each had 11 first-teamers.

Kicker Devin Barclay was a second-team selection by the conference media. Buckeyes picking up honorable mention honors on both the coaches and the media ballots are quarterback Terrelle Pryor, receiver DeVier Posey and defensive lineman John Simon.

Senior offensive guard Bryant Browning was chosen as Ohio State's Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor