Jody Victor®: 6 Buckeyes Named to NFF 2011

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye football news from…..

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced May 4 the members of the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players form all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, showing a steady increase in membership each year since the inaugural class in 2007.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthen the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided an endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. Each of the 671 players awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating the achievement.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

* Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;

* Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

* Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Buckeye honorees are Bryant Browning, Garrett Hummel, Chris Malone, Jake McQuaide, Andy Miller and Scott Sika. Ohio State is one of four FBS schools with five or more honored.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor