Jody Victor : Big Buckeye Year In Basketball

Jody Victor: The Buckeye basketball team and coaches worked hard this year to make it all happen. Ohio State returned just one starter and four letterwinners from its 2006 Big Ten title team but has put together a record-breaking campaign in 2007 with a school-record tying 27 victories, including a 15-1 record in league play. After consecutive outright league titles, the Big Ten coaches and media selected Thad Matta as the league's coach of the year in 2006-07, his second in as many seasons.

Matta now has four coach-of-the-year honors to his credit in three NCAA Division I conferences. He also has five league titles in his seven years as a head coach. Ohio State coaches have won the award seven times. Matta joins Randy Ayers as back-to-back honorees. Ayers did so in 1990 and 1991. Matta's three-year record of 73-21 (.777) gives him the most wins of the 12 previous Ohio State head coaches in program history over the first three years of their tenures. His three-year winning percentage is second only to legendary mentor Fred Taylor's .808 mean over his first three seasons (63-15 from 1959-62).

Big Ten coaches and media voted several Buckeyes to the all-league teams in 2006-07. The coaches chose freshman Greg Oden as the conference Freshman of the Year and the league's defensive Player of the Year. He landed a spot on the First Team All-Big Ten and All-Defensive teams. Classmate Daequan Cook was voted the Sixth Man of the Year. Another OSU rookie, Mike Conley Jr., joined Oden on the All-Freshman Team as well as earning a spot on the Second Team All-Big Ten squad. Junior Jamar Butler and senior Ron Lewis were honorable mention All-Big Ten selections as well.

The league media picked Oden and Conley on the first team with Butler, Cook and Lewis earning spots on the honorable mention squad. Oden was the media selection for Freshman of the Year. He also was the Ohio State's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor