Jody Victor® : Buckeyes In The News

Jody Victor: Ohio State wide receiver Brian Robiskie finished as one of five male finalists for the 2009 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar of the Year award, announced by Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine. The first Ohio State student-athlete to become a finalist since the national awards program began 16 years ago, Robiskie was also a national finalist last year.

Robiskie led the Buckeyes two seasons in receiving, with 42 catches for 535 yards and eight touchdowns in 2008. Twice a first team Academic All-American and a 2008 National Football foundation postgraduate scholar, the Cleveland product graduated from Ohio State in March with a bachelor's degree in marketing. Winner of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Robiskie was a second-round draft pick of the NFL's Cleveland Browns.

– Phil Steele has released his preseason All-Big Ten Team. Phil Steele's College Football Preview is one of the nation's most informative preseason football magazines and has always provided a preseason All-American team as well as preseason All-Conference teams. Ohio State is represented on the first team by safety Kurt Coleman, cornerback Chimdi Chekwa, offensive lineman Justin Boren and return specialist Ray Small. Second-team selections were quarterback Terrelle Pryor, safety Anderson Russell, linebacker Ross Homan and defensive end Thaddeus Gibson.

Kicker Aaron Pettrey, running back Brandon Saine, center Mike Brewster and receiver DeVier Posey were third-team picks. Kick returner Lamaar Thomas was on the fourth team.

– The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2009 Spring Watch List. The list includes 12 returning players from the 2008 Watch List. In all, there are 44 players on the Watch List. The SEC checks in with the most candidates, with six players being named. The ACC, Big-12, Big Ten and WAC are represented by five players each on the Watch List. Center Mike Brewster is on the list for Ohio State.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor