Jody Victor®: Five Buckeyes Honored

Jody Victor: Football is winding down to the Bowls but Ohio State continues to garner awards and honors. Here's the news from , Columbus, Ohio.

Five Ohio State football greats will have their names engraved on a number of trophies the Big Ten created last week when the conference announced the names of the Legends and Leaders division. Archie Griffin, Eddie George, Wayne Woodrow “Woody” Hayes, Orlando Pace and Jack Tatum proved to be great leaders on the field and after their playing and coaching careers concluded.

Starting in 2011, the Big Ten will honor the five Buckeyes with trophies for the Grange-Griffin Championship game MVP, the Graham-George offensive player of the year, Hayes-Schembechler coach of the year, Rimington-Pace offensive lineman of the year and Tatum-Woodson defensive back of the year.

Griffin, a four-year starter at tailback, is the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner in NCAA history. The three-time first team All-American led the Buckeyes to four consecutive Big Ten titles from 1972-75 and set career records for rushing yards (5,589), rushing attempts (924) and 100-yard games (34), all of which still stand.

George, the 1995 Heisman Trophy, Maxwell and Doak Walker Award winner was named Walter Camp national player of the year and Big Ten offensive player of the year his senior season. He went on to earn the 1996 NFL Rookie of the Year Award with the Houston Oilers and went on to play mine seasons in the NFL.

Hayes, the winningest head coach in Ohio State history, led the Buckeyes to a Big Ten record 205 wins over 28 seasons. The three-time National and two-time Big Ten coach of the year guided the Buckeyes to five national championships and 13 Big Ten titles, including six consecutive from 1972-77. Hayes, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, coached 56 first team All-American and three Heisman Trophy winners.

Pace, the 1994 Big Ten freshman of the year, became the first two-time winner of the Lombardi Award after making all 38 starts in his three years at Ohio State. After winning the Outland Trophy and twice being named Big Ten offensive lineman of the year, Pace was the first overall pick of the 1997 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Rams. He made seven consecutive Pro Bowl appearances and helped lead the Rams to a 23-16 win over George's Tennessee Titans in Super Bowl XXXIV.

Tatum was a two-time All-American and three-time first team All-Big Ten selection as a defensive back for the Buckeyes. The 1970 national defensive player of the year led the Buckeyes to a 27-2 record and one national title in his three seasons as a starter. A member of the College Football Hall of Fame, Tatum was selected to three Pro Bowls after the Oakland Raiders drafted him in the first round of the 1971 NFL Draft.

The  new Big Ten logo and division graphics, along with the list of trophy names and short bios on each of the student-athletes and coaches appearing on each trophy, can be found at

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor