Jody Victor : Four Buckeyes Named to NFF 2008 Hampshire Honor Society

Jody Victor: The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced April 9th, the members of the 2008 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better. A total of 433 players from 225 schools qualified for membership in the society's second year, an increase of more than 25 percent from the inaugural class in 2007.

Four Ohio State seniors were recognized : Brett Daly, Dan Dye, David Lisko and Dimitrios Makridis.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthening its leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs.

Qualifications for membership in the inaugural NFF National Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; Achieving a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements. The National Honor Society becomes the latest component of the organization's efforts to promote combined athletic and academic success. Launched in 1959, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards program became the first initiative in history to credit a player for his combined academic success, football performance and community leadership.

Congrats to all!

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor