Jody Victor®: No. 18/16 Buckeyes Host Akron in 2011 Season Opener

Jody Victor: Here's some great Buckeye football news from and

Akron (0-0) at #18/16 Ohio State (0-0)
Saturday, Sept. 3, 2011 – Noon ET
Ohio Stadium (102,329)
Columbus, Ohio

First and 10
• Ohio State is 6-1 all-time against Akron.

• Ohio State won the last meeting with the Zips, 20-2 on Sept. 8, 2007 at Ohio Stadium.

Luke Fickell is the sixth former OSU assistant to assume the school's head coaching position.

• The last 20 Ohio State coaches are 19-0-1 in their debuts. The last Ohio State coach to lose his debut was Jack Ryder, who suffered a 40-4 loss at Oberlin in 1892.

• Ohio State returns seven starters on offense and four on defense, including two special teamers.

• Ohio State led the Big Ten in every defensive category in 2010.

• Ohio State finished No. 5 in both the Associated Press and USA Today Coaches polls for the second straight season in 2010.

• Ohio State is 52-5 at Ohio Stadium since the start of the 2002 season.

• Ohio State has won 54 consecutive regular-season non-conference home games against teams not ranked in the AP Top 25.

• Ohio State has 34 Big Ten championships, second-most all time (Michigan, 42).

Did You Know?
• Ohio State has not lost a home opener in 33 years – Sept. 16, 1978 to be exact when No. 6 Ohio State suffered a 19-0 loss to No. 5 Penn State in Woody Hayes' final season as head coach.

• Ohio State has an all-time opening game record of 104-12-4. The Buckeyes' last opening day loss away from Columbus was to Miami in the 1999 Kickoff Classic in East Rutherford, N.J.

• All-time, the Buckeyes are 108-8-4 in home openers since 1890. The largest opening day crowd at Ohio Stadium was 105,092 in the 2009 opener vs. Navy.

About Akron
The Zips finished last season 1-11, but feature 13 returning starters on offense and defense and 35 letterwinners.

Sophomore transfrer Clayton Moore was named the Zips starting quaterback ahead of junior Patrick Nicely, a preseason all-MAC selection, who started all 12 games in 2010. Moore, who originally signed with Ole Miss, arrives from Mississippi Gulf Coast CC where he completed 155-of-257 passes for 2,395 yards and 23 touchdowns last season while leading the Bulldogs to the JUCO state championship and earned MVP honors at the Mississippi Bowl.

Defensively, junior linebacker Brian Wagner, a preseason all-MAC selection, returns after leading the team with 130 tackles.

Rob Ianello is in his second year as head coach after serving as an assistant at Notre Dame, Wisconsin, Arizona and Alabama.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor