Jody Victor®: Ohio State's Living Heisman Trophy Winners

Jody Victor: Heisman Trophy winners are a breed apart. Here are two more of the Ohio State 4 still living.

Eddie George – 1995 Heisman Trophy Winner – In '95, Eddie George rushed for 1,927 yards, a school record for a single season, and scampered into the endzone 24 times, the second most for a year of action.

He also recorded three of the Top 15 rushing performances in Ohio State history that year. In the early part of the season, George totaled 212 yards gained against Washington (9/16/95) before again igniting the home fans with 207 yards against Notre Dame (9/30/95).

The game that really got the attention of the rest of the nation was when Illinois came to town Nov. 11, 1995. Not only did he rush for a single-game record 314 yards, George scored two rushing touchdowns and added one receiving score. Add in 32 receiving yards and George's 346 all-purpose yards is the second most in Buckeye history behind the 354 totaled by Keith Byers at Purdue in 1984. His rushing performance, though, is what all but engraved his name on the Heisman.

Troy Smith – 2006 Heisman Trophy Winner – A gifted runner and passer, Troy Smith saved his best for last in 2006. The Cleveland native piloted the No. 1 ranked Buckeyes to a 12-0 regular season record and a spot in the national championship game as a senior.

With one remarkable performance after another, he threw for a school single-season record 30 touchdowns and became just the second quarterback in Ohio State history to post a 3-0 record against Michigan as a starter. In a see-saw 42-39 win over the Wolverines, Smith threw four touchdown passes and topped the 300-yard mark in total offense for the third consecutive year.

Following the regular season, the consensus All-American was a landslide winner in the Heisman Trophy voting, recording the second largest margin of victory ever in the balloting to determine the most outstanding player in college football.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor