Jody Victor®: Ohio State's Living Heisman Trophy Winners

Jody Victor: A look back on the standout seasons turned in by 4 living OSU players. Here's 2 of them.

Howard “Hopalong” Cassady – 1955 Heisman Trophy Winner – In four years, Cassady helped the Buckeyes to a 29-8 record and their first of five national championships under legendary head coach Woody Hayes. Cassady also earned many individual honors including twice being named All-American, the 1955 Heisman Trophy winner and 1955 Associated Press Athlete of the Year.

In 1955, he rushed for 958 yards and 15 touchdowns. Cassady finished his college career with 2,466 rushing yards. A total that still ranks 10th on the all-time Ohio State rushing list.

Archie Griffin – 1974 and '75 Heisman Trophy Winner – In 1974, Ohio State tailback Archie Griffin became just the fifth junior ever to win the Heisman Trophy. In 1975, Griffin became the first player ever to win a second Heisman. Griffin, who in 2010 will celebrate the 35th anniversary of his second Heisman, remains the only two-time winner of college football's most-coveted award.

Griffin, now the President and CEO of the Ohio State Alumni Association, was the Buckeyes' starting tailback for four years, leading Ohio State to a 40-51 record and four Big Ten titles between 1972 and 1975. He started in four-consecutive Rose Bowls, the only player ever to do so, and was a three-time first-team All-American.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor