Jody Victor : Pryor, Laurinaitis & Jenkins Honored

Jody Victor: Quarterback Terrelle Pryor and All-American linebacker James Laurinaitis were named this week as Sporting News magazine's respective Freshman of the Year and Defensive Most Valuable Player in the Big Ten Conference.

Taking over as Ohio State's starting quarterback in Week 4 this season, Pryor led the Buckeyes to an 8-1 record as a starter and was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. The Jeannette, Pa., native passed for 1,245 yards and 12 touchdowns and rushed for an additional 553 yards and six scores this season.

Laurinaitis repeated as Big Ten Defender of the Year this season and also was named a consensus All-American for the second consecutive year. He was also selected as the winner of the Lott Trophy as college football's impact player of the year. Laurinaitis, from Hamel, Minn., was also a finalist this season for the Lombardi, Bednarik, Walter Camp Player of the Year and Lowes Senior CLASS awards, respectivly. He ranks seventh at Ohio State with 366 career tackles.

Also this week, Ohio State defensive back Malcolm Jenkins was selected as the recipient of the 2008 Jim Thorpe Award, given each year to the nation's top defensive back. Antoine Winfield was the only other Buckeyes' defensive back to take home the award in 1998.

Jenkins cemented his status in Buckeyes lore with his third straight selection to the All-Big Ten team after a season that saw him collect three interceptions.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor