Jody Victor®: Team USA Wins IFAF

Jody Victor: A collection of 45 American teenagers gathered in Canton in the middle of June to complete a mission on the football field.

The mission was to win the 2009 International federation of American Football (IFAF) Junior World Championship, an inaugural tournament being contested at Fawcett Stadium which consisted of players aged 19 and younger from eight countries, spanning four continents.

For USA Football's Junior National Team that mission was accomplished Sunday July5, 2009. The second-seeded United States defeated top seed Canada 41-3 in the Gold Medal Game before a crowd of 15,473 fans at Fawcett Stadium.

USA Football quarterback Bryce Petty, a Baylor recruit, completed all of his pass attempts (14-for-14) and threw for 190 yards and three touchdowns.

David Wilson, a Virginia Tech recruit, who was named tournament MVP, led USA's rushing attack with 10 carries for 87 yards and a touchdown.

Left tackle Jack Mewhort (Ohio State), Brian Winters (Kent State), Evan Swindall (Mississippi), Aaron Price (Indiana) and Oday Aboushi (Virginia) formed USA's starting offensive line, which keyed the Americans to 408 total yards.

The 12-game tournament drew a total attendance of 40,043, a tournament record for 12-year-old IFAF.

The 2009 IFAF Junior World Championship All-Tournament first and second teams have been announced following the Gold Medal game that was played at Fawcett Stadium adjacent to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The selections were made based on a combination of votes cast by the head coaches of the eight competing teams and the tournament statistics.

Japan head coach Takao Yamazaki was named the All Tournament Team head coach having guided his team to a Bronze Medal and a 2-1 finish and Japan was also honored with the Fair Play Team award.

USA running back David Wilson, who rushed for a combined 425 yards and 8 touchdowns during the course of three games was named the tournament MVP as he helped the United States win the Gold Medal game.

The United States led the way with 14 first team all-tournament selections, followed by Germany with five, Canada with three and Japan with two, including quarterback Yuichiro Arakai, who threw for 686 yards and nine touchdowns and only one interception during the course of three games.

Go Bucks!!

Jody Victor