Jody Victor : Trapasso On Ray Guy Award Watch List

Jody Victor: The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced June 12 their pre-season watch list for the 2008 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter. The pre-season list is comprised of the top non-graduating finalists from the previous year. The 2008 pre-season list is headed up by Cincinnati Bearcat punter Kevin Huber, who was a Ray Guy Award top-3 finalist last year.

Former Georgia Tech punter Durant Brooks won the award in 2007. Brooks was the only punter selected in the 2008 NFL draft, where he was taken in the sixth round by the Washington Redskins. He looks to follow the success of 2006 and 2004 winner Daniel Sepulveda (Baylor), who is making a name for himself with the Pittsburgh Steelers, and 2005 winner Ryan Plackemeier (Wake Forest) of the Seatle Seahawks.

A. J. Trapasso (Ohio State) – was recognized in 2007 as the Big Ten special-teams player of the week after the Buckeyes played Michigan State. 19 of his 50 punts were downed inside the 20, his net punting average was 38.46 yards, and 66% of his punts could not be returned. He finished the season with 2,049 punting yards.

The Ray Guy Award watch-list will be expanded after the start of the season. The list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists early in November. The national voting body will then vote for the top three finalists, who will be announced in late November. The winner will be announced live during the ESPNU-Home Depot College Football awards show on December 11, 2008.


Jody Victor