No. 6 Seed Ohio State Opens Big Ten Tournament Wednesday Against No. 3 Seed Penn State

Jody Victor: Here’s some great Buckeye baseball news from and

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State baseball team enters the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 6 seed against No. 3 seed Penn State at 3:35 p.m. Wednesday at Huntington Park in Columbus. If the Buckeyes win, they will take on No. 1 seed Purdue at 7:05 p.m. Thursday. If Ohio State loses, it will take on the loser of No. 4 seed Nebraska/No. 5 Michigan State at 12:05 p.m. Thursday.

All Big Ten Tournament games will be televised live on BTN.

This is the third time the Big Ten Tournament will be contested at Huntington Park, after initially being held there in 2009. That 2009 tournament, won by Indiana, represented the first time since 1994 the Big Ten tournament was played at a neutral park and hosted by neutral parties – the Columbus Sports Commission and the Columbus Clippers, in addition to the Big Ten Conference. The tournament remained in Columbus in 2010 at Bill Davis Stadium before returning to Huntington Park in 2011.

Single-game tickets are $10 each for adults and $7 each for youth and senior citizens. Single-game VIP tickets, which are seated behind home plate and grant access to the Tansky Club Area, are $15 each. All-Tournament passes to the event’s 11 games cost $100 each. Tickets are available at the Huntington Park box office,, and

Ohio State has been one of the most successful teams in Big Ten Tournament play. The Buckeyes have won eight tournament titles – 1991-94-95-97 and 2002-03-05-07 – to rank second to Minnesota’s nine. Ohio State also ranks second in Big Ten Tournament wins (50), winning percentage (.589; 50-35) and most tournaments (25). When Ohio State failed to qualify for the 2010 Big Ten Tournament, it snapped a Big Ten record streak of 13 consecutive tournaments for the Buckeyes.

Ohio State leads the all-time series with No. 1 Purdue, 138-59-1. Last tourney game: 2-1 OSU, 2006.
– Ohio State holds a 157-104 lead in the all-time series with No. 2 Indiana. Last tourney game: 13-3 IU, 2009.
– Ohio State leads the series with No. 3 Penn State, 56-34. Last tourney game: 10-3 OSU, 2007.
– Ohio State trails the all-time series with No. 4 Nebraska by a narrow 2-3 margin. Last tourney game: never met.
– Ohio State is 134-86-1 vs. No. 5 Michigan State. Last tourney game: 8-3 OSU, 2004.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor