Fall Commencement 2015

This past Sunday, December 20th 2015 the Ohio State University awarded special honors to some distinguished members of the OSU family.

Thomas D. Brock, who earned three degrees from the Ohio State University including his PhD in Botany, is credited with the discovery of microorganisms that not only survive but grow at very high temperatures in the geothermally heated waters in Yellowstone Park hot springs. The discovery is considered one of the fundamental milestones of microbiology. Brock is retired and is the E.B. Fred Professor of Natural Sciences Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. On Sunday Brock was awarded the Joseph Sullivant Medal.

Ohio State will also present the Distinguished Service Award to Mabel Freeman, former assistant vice president for Undergraduate Admissions and First Year Experience, who played a pivotal role in the lives of a generation of Ohio State graduates.

Most importantly though, the Ohio State University awarded 3,000 some degrees to current student body members. Each graduate received his or her own diploma at the ceremony, a practice rarely attempted by a university the size of Ohio State.

Jody Victor crew

Five Buckeyes watched by Maxwell FB Club

Jody Victor: Here is some great Buckeye football news from OSU.edu and OhioStateBuckeyes.com.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Maxwell Football Club, presenters of the prestigious Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award, announced its initial 2013 watch lists for each award today and five Ohio State Buckeyes are under consideration:

Junior quarterback Braxton Miller (Maxwell Award watch list);
Senior running back Carlos Hyde (Maxwell Award);
Senior safety C.J. Barnett (Bednarik Award watch list);
Junior cornerback Bradley Roby (Bednarik Award); and
Junior linebacker Ryan Shazier (Bednarik Award).

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 18. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 5. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential.


Jody Victor

Academic Achievers Include 37 Scholar-Athletes

Jody Victor: Here’s some great Buckeye football news from osu.edu and OhioSateBuckeyes.com.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – A total of 37 Ohio State football players in the 2011-12 academic calendar year are carrying at least a 3.00 cumulative grade point average and were honored Wednesday evening at the Ohio Union as part of the 45th annual OSU Scholar-Athlete banquet. A record number of Ohio State student-athletes – 548 – were honored as scholar-athletes.

Among the football honorees are 20 players who have achieved OSU Scholar-Athlete status at least twice during the career. Included is spring 2012 graduate Spencer Smith, who was honored as a Scholar-Athlete for a fifth time, and four-time honorees Ben Buchanan, Adam Homan and Andrew Sweat.

Sweat and Nate Ebner, who was honored by Ohio State for the third time, maintained at least a 3.20 GPA for their entire academic career and each were also named last week to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame’s Hampshire Honor Society.

All six of the true freshmen who enrolled at Ohio State in January for the Winter Quarter achieved at least a 3.0 GPA in their first quarter and were honored as an OSU Scholar-Athlete. Those six are Jacoby Boren, Bri’onte Dunn, Cardale Jones, Tyvis Powell, Joshua Perry and Michael Thomas. Five additional true freshmen who were with the team last year – Michael Bennett, Brian Bobek, Doran Grant, Bryce Haynes and Ron Tanner – were also honored.

The scholar-athlete banquet, held in the Archie M. Griffin Grand Ballroom, also recognizes Ohio State’s Big Ten Medal of Honor winners as well as the recipients of numerous post-graduate scholarships provided by Ohio State: The Corwin A Fergus Memorial Award; Men’s Varsity O Scholarship Sward; Judith A Pierce Phoenix Award; Leann Grimes-Davidge Award; and the M/I Homes Foundation Award.

Go Bucks!!!

Jody Victor